World Of Warcraft

In reading the first section of My Life as a Night Elf Priest, I have to admit that this book was a bit difficult to take in, but in grand retrospect, I find that the game, World of Warcraft, is just as confusing. While all of my guy friends used to stay home every weekend to play this game and it became like an addiction, I felt inclined to see what the hype was about. So, a few times I did watch my friends play the game and I honestly felt like my head was spinning. It was the most intricate and confusing game that I had ever seen, nevertheless, I was more attuned to games like Mario Party and Dance Dance Revolution. I have to admit, I am not the biggest fan of World of Warcraft.

Pertaining to the reading, one thing that I found to be particularly intriguing was on page 56 when Nardi was describing player performance and how crucial it is to this game. She said, “A character is not merely an image or static representation but a performance. In Magtheridon’s Lair, either you can click the cube at the right moment or you cannot.” While I do think that for some individuals they have a competitiveness to them and this game can bring out that inner nature, I do not feel that this conceptualization that is evident in World of Warcraft would be suiting for all types of people. For those who have difficulty playing the game or have a hard time accepting that they cannot necessarily master it, this would not be the game for them. For others, it would allow them to bring out a side of them that allows them to compete with others and strive to attain a better performance. So I pose the question to everyone else in the class, would World of Warcraft be a game that you see yourself being challenged by or would the stress of having to perform to certain expectations be too much to handle? For me, I would choose the second option, but I am curious how everyone else perceives themselves and their gaming capabilities.

4 thoughts on “World Of Warcraft”

  1. I have to say that personally I have never been especially interested in multiplayer, online games. However, if these things had existed when I was in high school, I can imagine playing them with my friends. For me right now I think that the amount of time one needs to devote to MMORPG is beyond me. Maybe after my kids have left for college.

  2. I have never played WOW myself, nor do I really want to. Frankly, if I were to be addicted to it like one kid who I was in school with, I don’t know where I would have time to do anything else. And from what I understand from Nardi, this is one addictive game! I’m not sure if I could even rise to the challenge if I had the time. It actually seems pretty stressful to me and I look at game playing more for relaxation than anything else. I also know from many people that WOW has also caused a lot of friction in families. The kid I mentioned actually had his game ruined by his mother accidentally which caused a big fight.

  3. I have never played World of Warcraft myself, but I absolutely share your reaction. Just based on what I have seen, I don’t think that I could really handle everything that comes with the game. I would certainly try it out, but the detailed quests seem like so much to take it, and the fact that there would always be another one waiting for me would make it seem never ending.

    I think that World of Warcraft would be amazing if I sat down and really devoted my time to learning the game; I think that it is incredibly popular because there are people willing to do just that. I think that people like me, who just watch or try to take it all in at once, would be unsuccessful in this game because we would be too easily overwhelmed; the trick seems to be to devote large amounts of time to learning as you go.

    Though I probably will not be playing World of Warcraft anytime soon, I am a little jealous to think of the people who do love the game having a truly joyful, productive activity to turn to when real life becomes too much. While World of Warcraft may not be for everyone, but taking time to regroup from one’s day certainly is.

  4. In general, I’m not a huge fan of MMORPGs, which is to say I’ve pretty much never even tried them. The idea has never really interested me, and from the videos of gameplay I’ve seen, there are just too many details to pique my interest. The closest thing I have played, I think, is Skyrim, which had an update a while back allowing people to keep leveling up continuously, in essence making the game “endless.” I’ve seen people on my friends list playing characters in the 130s range of levels, which is nearing twice the original point cap, and a representation of a lot of time spent playing.

    From what I can tell, most MMORPGs that I have seen suck up so much time because they are so complex. All the details have been a huge turn off for me, in addition to the pay-for-play system, which I always thought was ridiculous. Then, all that time spent in the game world…? It would never feel worth it. I think I’d suffer from “gamer regret” every time I dared to pick it up– not even so much that the learning would be stressful, but that I just would not even think about spending all that time just learning how things work. I don’t see myself ever really getting into that sort of a game.

Leave a Reply

