Elders and World of Warcraft

So I found this really exciting article, which I have listed below, about how World of Warcraft, amongst other video games have displayed through studies to boost cognitive ability for senior citizens. I found for myself this article was extremely relatable because I have had family members diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease, and in thinking of my own future, along with the future of the current and upcoming generations, I started to think about if maybe such video games could really add on a few days, months, or even years to someone’s life. I thought that such an idea is fascinating and it is exciting that researchers are turning to technological means to aid elders.

From this article, what I thought most related to Nardi’s book is the part from the article that states, “”We chose World of Warcraft because it has attributes we felt may produce benefits – it is a cognitively challenging game in a socially interactive environment that presents users with novel situations,” McLaughlin explained.” Nardi similarly asserted in her book the importance of World of Warcraft based on its invigorating stimulation and challenges that it puts forth to the gamer.

So for everyone else in the class I want to pose the question of how you all feel about whether elderly individuals should play video games if it may boost their cognitive abilities, or if such an idea just seems to be a farce?

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/world-of-warcraft-may-boost-seniors-cognitive-ability-study/

4 thoughts on “Elders and World of Warcraft”

  1. I think in this case anything is worth trying! It’s such a debilitating disease, with that said it also has to be a complete re-design of the console. In my experience elderly people have had trouble adapting to the controller for each gaming console.

    In summary I believe it could be beneficial to try it

  2. I found this article extremely interesting. It never occurred to me that seniors would be gaming at that age. But I did know that crossword puzzles and other puzzles were beneficial for the mind.
    There is a program named Lumosity that can improve different parts of functions of the brain and I can see why WOW would be just as beneficial. As people live longer and longer, wouldn’t it be great if instead of playing bingo, people in nursing homes could play WOW?
    Great subject of conversation, great self-esteem booster, and great social interaction. This is also better than being parked in front of a t.v. because it is interactive and not passive.

  3. I really enjoyed this article. I think it’s significant to Nardi’s novel of WoW and it’s benefits, especially to see it helping with such a major medical issue such as Alzheimer’s disease. After being more informed about the game through this book, I can definitely see how the game’s interaction and challenges can push these elders to use their brains to practice their cognitive skills. It goes to show how many different ways that videogames can help us with real world issue, such as medical problems.

  4. That is a very good question. I think that anything could be possible. There is a change that playing video games would make them feel young and possibly rejuvenate their lives. If the games are able to be played by the elderly, it can’t hurt them if they just give it a try.

Leave a Reply

