My life as a College Student

After reading everyones posts and the text, it’s nice to get a general sense of everyone’s interpretation of specifically game addiction. Also it was satisfying to see video games be treated so professionals as to be researched extensively. Particularly Nardi’s theories, which really gave me an interesting look at many different aspects of our culture.

I really attract towards addiction, because my mom always told me I was addicted when I was younger. It’s cool that everyone else in class is talking about addiction as well. I think it’s a very interesting topic to have discussions about. In my own opinion there is nothing wrong with every once in a while playing a game for an extended period of time. I get it, games are fun, and even…addicting. Games are a release for many, same as one might go for a run, or smoke a cigarette. But like both of those, too much of a good thing can be harmful to you. Yes, even running too much can hurt you. 

Having said that, when does excessive gaming become an addiction? When is enough enough? When should a user unplug and experience reality. But like in the book, some users create meaningful relationships over this platform. Otherwise unable to communicate with there friends unless playing the game. In that case, which is better for the gamer? A reality with no friends, or an alternate reality with tons of friends? One where you’re all magical warriors I might add.

I don’t think Video game addiction is a problem, but I do think video game addiction is an effect of an underlying problem. And when we look at games in a artistic manner, research theories like Nardi’s can really shine a new light on occurrences such as addiction  our very culture.

6 thoughts on “My life as a College Student”

  1. I think you posed a great question about when is enough, enough. In my opinion, I believe that this should be considered like gambling. It is said that you are supposed to walk away from a blackjack table, roulette table, poker table, etc., when you are coming out on top. If you keep on losing and you frustrate yourself in doing so, there is no need to continue to feed into that frustration. It will only get worse the longer you play. So in terms of video games, when the frustration sets in after going at it for hours, that would be the time to shut down the game and return back to it another day. Like being on the computer, you do not necessarily realize that time has flown by because you get so entranced in it. It is important, for potential addicts especially, to monitor their time in such a world.

  2. I agree with you, only on excessive video gaming that is. I feel its a problem in our country. Back in my country, Ecuador, they never play video games, or as much as here that is. Here games are played excessively, mainly because of economics and the availability. My country isn’t as advanced, or as economically stable as the U.S, so the main addiction, however forced, is education. Children back home are forced to learn calculus in 6th grade. I wish i was brought up in Ecuador, because having been taught calculus at that age, i would have done better in my engineering classes. So basically in Ecuador, games are ignored and a nuisance. However, my cousins have informed me that times are changing back home, and that now more and more people have ps3s and some even ps4s! It scares to think that Ecuador will soon have a problem like ours, because then Ecuador will be full of fat lazy people as well. Not saying that the U.S is full of fat lazy people, though stats confirm this, but rather that games are a contributor.

    1. claudiosinchi, You’re right! America is fat and mostly lazy! I think that’s a positive educational idea that may need to be applied to all societies not just those in Ecuador. The fact that the US is advanced in this type of medium is also burdensome on education! We advance so much in technology that the technology ends up taking over in a sense that hinders our individual progress! Maybe we should all really come up with, as Nardi says, educational gameplay, a type of educational stimulus. Something that not only involves fun but teaches the youth calculus at a young age. Think of the possibilities!

      1. Certainly an interesting idea. Changing games or technology from an addiction-inducing hindrance into educational tools, productivity, and focus is definitely something that would greatly benefit society. It would be very difficult to mange though, I think. The grand scale of turning technology of games from mindless shooters, fights, and Candy Crush into games that actually help educate people is daunting. If we can start at the very least by eliminating all the various farting apps ever made, we’ll be making good progress.

  3. I love video games and I have been playing them for a very long time. I am particularly fond of sports related games but I have played an assortment of games since I started. The one thing my parents forbade me to do was to bring my XBOX 360 to college because they knew that I would probably spend a lot of time playing. It is often the first thing I do when I get home, and I do spend a lot of time playing. So, even if Nardi does not categorize this as addiction, I guess it is more a relaxing past time, fun, and as you say, a release. I believe that everything should be done in moderation but that if it really is done non-stop, it can cause a lot of problems.

  4. I have thought about your question (. In that case, which is better for the gamer? A reality with no friends, or an alternate reality with tons of friends?) for years. When I was younger, I use to ask why can’t people just make friends. Hiding behind a video game cannot help solve one’s problem. As I got older and really saw how people interact with one another in the world, I see why people hide behind video games. I do think that some people are addicted to playing video games, but then I’ve also thought about people using the gaming world as a shadow. For some people, its better to to have hundreds of virtual friends rather than living a lonely life with no one to talk to at all.

Leave a Reply

