WoW….Addicted!

While reading chapter six, it really caught my attention.   I have a couple of friends who speak about playing World of Warcraft.  Needless to say, they have all of confessed how playing this game has made them very addicted to it.  This has made me think about the other video games that millions of Americans have become very addicted to playing.  The burning question that I have always wanted to know an answer to is, “Why are people so addicted to playing video games?”  I have always looked at video games as an escape from reality.  Sadly there are some people who do not love the life that they have.  Difficulties in life such as work, school or even bullying make facing everyday life hard for some individuals.  I’ve always seen the addiction that some games have is something that they have to escape the reality that they have to face on a daily basis.  Of course there are people who play games just to make the time pass, but what about the people who play for for multiple hours on end?  What seems to be the underlying dilemma that they face?  What are your thoughts on the situation?

3 thoughts on “WoW….Addicted!”

  1. Video game addiction is clearly a serious issue for any one who suffers from it. However we have to be careful how we are using the word “addiction.” The average American spends 5 hours a day watching television. That’s 35 hours per week. Is the average American addicted to TV? I think we’d say “no,” but TV is clearly an integral part of American culture.

    On the other hand, we might say a kid playing video games for the same amount of time is addicted.

  2. I like the connection that Professor Reid made between TV and video games. Why is it that when we watch TV for such a long time, its not considered an addiction but when video games are played for the same amount of time, we have a different outlook on it? I think the difference is that with TV, there is a wide variety of shows that can be watched, from Nat Geo, to Jerry Springer, to The Game of Thrones. Because of the vast differences is the types of shows, the possibilities of learning something from these shows are obvious. I think that this is more subtle in video games. Its not so obvious that the challenges that are presented in video games cane be meant to prepare people for the challenges we face in real life.

    I do think that when people excessively play video games, it has become their escape from reality. I often find that people get by in life by avoiding the situations that they face in everyday life. Instead of confronting them head on, they find an outlet and video games could be one of them. I also think that people can become addicted to video games because of what their lacking in their own lives. Maybe they’re not being challenged enough at work or school and video games allows them to be mentally stimulated.

  3. Call of Duty had been excessively addictive for me in the past, namely back in high school because in general, those were some rough years for me anyway. I could actually feel the addiction, because I had what I’d call actual symptoms: always thinking about the game, even when not playing; constantly trying to sneak in games here and there, even when I didn’t really have time; entire weekends and weeknights devoted to only playing the game; a few other small things, but perhaps most markedly was the fact that I kept playing even when it ceased to be fun anymore. I would get killed constantly, bullets wouldn’t register through lag or something, and every single enemy knew how to catch me off guard because the stars were aligning and the universe despised me and so on and so forth. The rage from the game often carried into my real life for a few hours after playing.

    I did just fine grade-wise in highschool, but I just could not stand most of the people. Now, of course, I’ve pulled much further away from games since then, but I would definitely agree with the escape logic- I would go there and even as bad as it was sometimes, I would stay there. Had to reach next level, next prestige, or whatever. No bully could make me look or feel bad in that game. I was a champion and often the top of the team.

    Kind of makes me sick just thinking about all this again. But I’d never felt the -need- to play a game like that, regardless of how the game went or whether it was even much fun. Thus, I think a great deal of the “addiction” part of this is in the player’s head. That’s where the need to play is.

Leave a Reply

