In chapter two of Galloway’s story, he talks a lot about mental affects in relation to shooting guns. He says something on page 46 that unfortunately is true, however, I do not agree with it being used in video games, per say. He claimed, “One of the most common uses of the subjective shot is to show the optical perspective of a drugged, drowsy, drunk, or otherwise intoxicated character.” I do think that holds true for many video games that involve guns and violence. What I don’t like, on the other hand, is the fact that all of these people who are shown using guns in the games have this persona. Realistically, not everyone who shoots a gun or kills someone via violence is drunk, drowsy, drugged, or intoxicated. Why do they not show that a person maybe is crazy or unstable? Why can’t they be sober and do it? Unfortunately there are plenty of people who kill and have no consumed any alcoholic beverages or taken any drugs to commit the act. I think that many video games exemplify a certain stereotype or behavior of a person and Galloway brings it up, but I do not think that it needs to be this way. I suppose everyone has their own views on guns and violence, but that is mine in relation to video games. I would personally be happy if violent video games ceased to exist at all.

3 thoughts on “”

  1. I don’t think that it would be very likely for a sane, sober person to just pick up a gun and shoot someone. They would have to have a motive or be under the influence of something and I find that very few people who participate in gun violence, are sane or sober. I think that the creators of video games aim to make the game as realistic as possible. The reality is that there are people who are live in this world who participate in drugs and gun violence.

    I was talking to a friend the other day and he had just signed up for selective service. He kept saying that he hopes there won’t be a draft in the near future. I was also playing Call of Duty at the time. He despises shooting games. I tried to explain to him the benefit, at least in my opinion, as to why shooting games were beneficial. I explained that I believed that they allowed more people to willingly join the army. I think there’s a motive behind making shooting video games and so I believe they will continue to be made.

  2. I would say the number games involving sober shooters is much higher than those without. Games that I play tend to have morality choices where I can choose to be violent to get my way, or stealthy and non-violent. For the most part, the games seem to imply that the non-violent choices are better through the use of storytelling. More people survive, the ending is easier, and the epilogue much more chipper. I’m not familiar with games like CoD but I would imagine they attempt to show valor and honor, as they revolve around soldiers. Some games, like Mortal Kombat, are just pure, unadulterated violence. My point being that video games are just as diverse as every day life. You can choose to hurt no one and be the hero, or kill everyone and be the overlord, or you can choose to purchase a game that is 100% revolved around violence or not. Either way, it’s a player’s choice, not the game that makes something violent.

  3. First off, I don’t believe that is what Galloway is expressing here! He is simply expressing how some video games may portray the perspective of a given character! Whether that character was drugged during a kidnapping or knocked unconscious during a struggle! Furthermore, Galloway is discussing for the most part in this sentence, dream sequences which he concludes are to be extra diegetic and remain in the imaginary narrative zone of the characters mind.

Leave a Reply

