Focusing Kids with Videogames

Now that I have spent some time finding arguments against people playing videogames, I have been able to focus my attention on articles that support the playing of videogames.

The article I found today (https://student.societyforscience.org/article/what-video-games-can-teach-us) is useful because it lists the things that kids have actually proven to have gotten better at as a result of playing videogames.

On a personal note, one of my siblings was once thought to have a learning disability. My parents dismissed the suggestion, pointing out that my brother knew all of the (then) 150 pokemon and their attacks, and knew that his lack of knowledge was a result of a lack of interest. Similarly, in this article, it has been said that kids diagnosed with ADHD will stay focused on a videogame for hours at a time. This is evidence that many diagnoses are made because individuals don’t fit into the norm; it doesn’t mean that something is wrong with them.

The article I found is important to me and to my research not only because it points out things that videogames actually improve in children: reaction time, multitasking, reading, focusing, etc., it also points to a greater lesson that society has yet to acknowledge. Failure is not always the result of incompetency; sometimes it is just an indicator that the individual is not being reached the right way. My brother just finished his freshman year of college with a 4.0, and credits the sports he loves with requiring him to keep up his grades. The provided article proves that videogames can be beneficial to our lives on a physical level and on a societal level, as well.

3 thoughts on “Focusing Kids with Videogames”

  1. Being that you brought up your scenario with your sibling being thought to have a learning disability, it reminded me of something that I thought to be important since I am going for my masters in special education. Especially for children with ADHD and ADD, I think that playing video games could be very resourceful. With ADD and ADHD, children have difficulty focusing, which is often times where medication such as Adderall comes into play. Videogames are extremely stimulating and invigorating for children, plus there are many that pertain to their interests, so I think that for children with learning disabilities, video games could help with their attentiveness immensely.

    As well, for children with Aspergers I think that interactive video games that are multiplayer, such as we have seen with games like Call of Duty and World of Warcraft, can be extremely helpful. Children with Aspergers, which is a form of Autism, often times have trouble connecting with other people because this disability hinders their easiness to socialize. These individuals often tend to be more shy, reserved, and awkward in social situations. With video games that are interactive and multiplayer, this can help children with Aspergers communicate without sometimes realizing that they are communicating with other actual people. It can kind of be a reverse psychology way of going about it, but in my opinion, I believe this could be a very useful strategy for children with disabilities.

  2. I think the research you’re doing is great and should be pursued on a much bigger stage. I’d be interested to know if there is any findings out there that is contradictory to the findings on the above referenced site? This is not to disprove that video games are in fact helpful but more so a way to understand the entire experience a video game has on all disabilities and if there are certain ones that have no effect from games in general.

  3. The idea of how videogames could be beneficial to health problems seems like a really good research project to me. Some people only see what they want to be, such as how videogames seem like a “waste of time.” Since technology is increasing and constantly updating, I believe it is important for society to adjust to it, finding the benefits rather than the focusing just on negatives. I think allowing the education system to update teaching styles to work with technology such as incorporating the usage of videogames could be helpful for people with health issues such as ADHD. I am interested in seeking out more information on this topic, especially since this could be helpful for new ideas for the future.

Leave a Reply

