Video Games as a Spectator Sport

I’m really interested in the competitive aspects of gaming and I love to support the professional gaming industry. For this reason I’m hoping to research these topics for my project, and while I’m not entirely sure which direction I’m going to take yet, I have some ideas to play around with. First I wanted to find an article on viewership and see how it compares to anything on TV. I found the perfect article here:

http://www.chicagotribune.com/entertainment/sns-201406041200–tms–invideogctnzs-b20140604-20140604,0,5614651.story

The article states that, “Viewers watched 2.4 billion hours of eSports video in 2013, according to a new study from IHS Technology. This was almost double the 1.3 billion hours in 2012.” It also goes on to predict through this trend that viewership will be 6.6 billion in 2018. It also goes on to suggest profitable futures for viewing platforms like Twitch.TV and YouTube from eSports, as well as numerous advertising opportunity. I will continue to research how advertising takes advantage of this opportunity, and find specific examples of it in the past year. One juicy example I know of already that I heard a few months back is a head of advertising from Coca-Cola saying that advertising during the LCS (the League of Legends NFL-equivalent) is more valuable to them than advertising during the Superbowl.

Leave a Reply

