Anonymity

I know technically this chapter isn’t due to be read until tomorrow, but I decided to continue reading anyways while I had some time. I came across on page 28 of Cline’s “Ready Player One” something that I find to be both a positive and negative aspect to video games. Cline stated, “Anonymity was one of the major perks of the OASIS.” I personally think that anonymity can be a good thing when playing video games because not everyone wants to admit that they have an interest in video games. I do not like anonymity, however, because there are so not so good people in this world and video games can open up a world to violence, and sometimes it can be taken out of proportion. When someone needs to be tracked down, anonymity can make it difficult. Therefore, I think that anonymity has its perks and flaws in video games

6 thoughts on “Anonymity”

  1. Agreed. Was playing Call of Duty today, and it was a sniper festival- almost everybody had one. I kept bumping into enemies in close quarters, so I brought a submachine gun as my secondary, and wound up having to use it a lot.

    After the game, this one guy I probably got 4 or 5 times was complaining up a storm about how terrible I was and every time I saw someone I pulled out my pistol (that I didn’t have) and yadda yadda yadda. I had the top score in the game, and as is often the case with people on the losing team, that meant he had a very personal issue with me.

    I muted the flustered fellow, but anonymity worked both ways here. First, he felt he could fire off a few swear words and voice his anger freely in the game where no one was holding the person behind the screen name personally accountable for what he said. Second, his attack on me wasn’t so personal. He didn’t see my face or know my real name or anything so as to make it easier to blow things out of proportion and call up 30 pizzas to be delivered to my house or something ridiculous like that. I don’t think he was that angry, but I’m sure there are people out there who would do such things.

    So yes, good and bad sides to it. Although, maybe if we knew each others’ real names and such, he may have been more willing to bite his tongue. Hard to say.

  2. I believe anonymity is only relevant when one is trying to hide something or themselves. If honesty was prevalent in the world we live in, than anonymity would not need to exist.

    If your involved in something that requires you to hide your identity from others then you may want to think hard on what that activity truly involves and possible cease in continuing.

    I found an interesting article from the NY Times, that I thought was relevant to this topic.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/30/opinion/30zhuo.html?_r=0

    1. Maybe I’m wrong, and please forgive me if I am, but I think what you’re saying is that people pursue anonymity for negative reasons. I don’t think that anyone goes under an anonymous identity to purposely cause harm to others. I think this is something that just happens,

      In response to your comment,” If your involved in something that requires you to hide your identity from others then you may want to think hard on what that activity truly involves and possible cease in continuing” I don’t think that’s quite realistic. Especially when it comes to video games. I think that wanting to cause harm to others is a much bigger problem beyond anonymity.

      People can chose to be anonymous in order to protect themselves from possible violence. However, I don’t think choosing to be anonymous or stating your identity changes the game in anyway.

  3. I think anonymity is a problem when you apply it to the immediacy of the internet. This applies to all forms of social media, not just video games. We all have random, impulsive thoughts of anger or malice that we don’t really mean. Sometimes it just pops up, and we use self correction to get rid of it or rationalize just what it is that’s bothering us. With the internet however, I think we’re starting to ignore that brief pause of self correcting and are instead using our brainpower to upload that thought to twitter, or spout it off to someone in multiplayer. So not only are we denying ourselves the self-correction, we are also hiding behind the shield of anonymity which gives us no repercussions for our actions, thus influencing the behavior.

  4. I have to agree with Kadeejah7295,

    The internet breeds an air of anonymity, but the internet can only protect you so far. I constantly see stories where an raging gamer is motivated enough to pursue another player beyond the anonymity. Take for example following case:

    http://www.dailydot.com/gaming/call-of-duty-swat-team/

    In this example, an angry gamer was able to track down a user’s IP address and using that was able to find the player’s address. There are some people that believe that the internet keeps them anonymous, however the digital protection is merely a lie. With the right tools and technical knowledge one could track where anyone is down to the exact address. In studying networking technologies, I’ve found that its relatively easy to track an IP with free and available tools. Gamers must realize that in order to stay safe they must take the right precautions, for instance never using their real name, and not giving any information out that doesn’t pertain to the game at hand. Even google searching a username can reveal a lot of information. Try searching my username “slyder5649” (Don’t laugh at my poor gaming histories :D)

  5. Anonymity is an interesting topic in the gaming community specifically, and I’d say that the anonymity of a player is actually a part of the gaming culture. Gaming as a form of escapism is easier when you can adopt a whole new persona, and really step into the shoes of your character. Some players even have a special attachment to their username, and it becomes a part of them, like a nickname of sorts. Many internet personalities were upset at the YouTube-Google merge because (among numerous other reasons) they were trying to end the anonymity of a YouTube account and forcing you to use a G+ profile. Besides the fact that it’s dangerous to have thousands or even millions of fans who know personal information about yourself such as your name, it could ruin the dynamic of your channel. Some channels have iconic usernames that have become a brand of theirs, and important to the user’s success. Like others have said, actually keeping your anonymity is becoming harder and harder with new technologies and new ways for hackers to get your information. With these new advances in technologies though, the authorities can track you down too, so I don’t really think that that particular scenario is too big of a problem. I personally know of multiple accounts of players who were threatened and reported the incident to the authorities, who then resolved the situation. Overall I believe that the, “anonymity,” if we can truly call it that, of the internet, in terms of gaming, is a good thing and should not be changed.

Leave a Reply

