Call of Duty: Ghosts

“It’s been 10 years.  You start to forget the things you should remember and you can’t stop remembering the things you should forget.  We’ve always had the power…not anymore.  All we have is each other.  Were ghosts, fighting for something that can’t be killed…ghosts haunt”.

I am not going to say that I am an avid video game player, but I do like to pay the video games that spark my interests.  When I do play video games, I like to play something that will have me thinking about ditching my plans for the day and I want my dreams to be filled with different ways that I can tackle the next level.  I am not the biggest fan of the First Person Shooter (I’ll wait for the booing to end).  I would rather play old fashion style video games.  The main reason is because I can actually see what might be coming on the other side of the screen rather than being surprised and wind up losing one of the lives that I might have.  With this being said, I was a little skeptical about playing Call of Duty:  Ghosts.  I have always heard the many great things that have been said about the Call of Duty series so I decided to give it a try.

This game was released for PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and Wii U.  I had the opportunity to play this game on my friend’s PlayStation 4.  I was a little surprised that he handed me the PlayStation 4 controller instead of his Xbox One Controller.   To make a long story short, he has his entire home audio system connected to Xbox, so I was sure that I would be playing this game on the Xbox.  Side note:  I am a PlayStation baby, so I would prefer PlayStation over any other game console at any given time.  He told me that he actually liked to play this game on his PlayStation 4 became he feels as if it is much better for playing games than the Xbox.  So after my friend gave me the run down on the much needed lesson in the difference of game consoles, he gave me the controller and left me to fend for myself.

Now imagine World War III.  YOU DON’T’T WANT TO IMAGINE IT!  Any why is this?  Because there would be chaos and so much dismay in the world that no average person would be able to handle.  This would be a horrible thing to even envision.  The developers are Infinity Ward have an extensive imagination because no one would ever want to be placed in this predicament.  Ten years after a devastating mass event, the nation’s borders and the balance of global power have been redrawn forever. The United States is no longer a super power.  The economy and government are in ruins, the country’s once-mighty military struggles to save themselves from a complete dismantlement. As what’s left of the nation’s Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as “Ghosts” leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power.  I would give the storyline 10 out of 10.  This is because the developers were brave enough to dig so deep and actually come out with a plot that could possible happen in the future.  This alone intrigued my interests and made me want to keep continuing to play the game.  In addition to the characters, I like how Call of Duty:  Ghosts incorporated a family theme into the mix.  With other war games, theirs is usually the “lone ranger” who lost his family and is fighting with every ounce of energy that he has left because he has nothing else to live for and would rather die fighting.  Captain Elias Walker and his two sons Logan and “Hesh” Walker have one another to live for and fight to keep each other alive after this doomsday because “A man that truly loves his country doesn’t just give his life…he gives his sons”.
From the start I was taken aback by the graphics.  They were so surreal.  Instead of knowing that I am waiting for the game to start, I actually thought that I was watching a movie that I mistook my controller for popcorn at the movies.  The pixels were amazing and these also kept my interest in playing the game rather than wanting to give up so easily.  However, I just graduated from the “pressing all of the buttons at once phase” so playing the game was a little difficult for me at first.  My friend and I played this game on a Saturday afternoon when we both did not have anything to do.  I spent a lot of time playing this game.  As I continued to play the game, I started to realized that it Call of Duty:  Ghosts fit into the other Call of Duty games that processed it.  I did not think much of it them, but when I got done playing with the game, I wondered if any of the future Call of Duty games would be like this one.  My chances say that they would be.   Now because of this, I would not play this game again.  Maybe if I am bored and really do not have any other thing else to do with my life.  But what is the point of playing it again, there is going to be another Call of Duty coming out in the future and it would probably end up having the same storyline or something quite similar.

Overall I did enjoy playing this game.  I do not get to play a lot of multi-player games.   So when I am provided with the opportunity, I jump at the first chance.  I would give this overall rating of this game 8.5 out of 10.  For someone who does not play video games all of the time, the little things such as the graphics caught my interest.  If I was an expert at gaming, I might have more to say and would probably critique every little thing.

Leave a Reply

