Video Game Friends GR#4

I always had friends who played video games. Where they my friends because they played video games? No, but video games made our relationships stronger. We spent time at each other’s houses, discussed the games we played, and geeked over trailers, spoofs, and lore.

Do I think we would have been friends had gaming been absent from our lives? I honestly don’t know, our friendships expanded past gaming as we got older. But for a lot of my friends, gaming was the seed to our relationship.

I think that the article hits on some interesting points, I agree that gaming can often strengthen relationships, it encourages interaction. Although it may not be face to face, it is still interaction.

http://blogs.kqed.org/mindshift/2014/05/social-and-emotional-benefits-of-video-games-metacognition-and-relationships/

Leave a Reply

